Every couple weeks, we like to feature a crafter that has been a meaningful contributor to the Giving Artfully community.

This week, we would like to introduce you to Muriel.  Muriel has been a great contributor for Giving Artfully and has made over 120 beautiful items for The Children of Pine RidgePrecious Preemie Project, Compassionate Creations, Halos of Hope, Don’t Be Afraid – I am Here Bears, and Afghan Squares for Pine Ridge.

Thank you Muriel for your time and dedication to these different organizations!  Your gifts are impacting many lives.

MurielC

How long have you been crafting and what inspired you to start?                                                I started knitting my senior year of high school back in the 60’s.  I wanted a sweater set (pullover and cardigan) and decided it would be a good idea to knit one.  Since I was a novice knitter it didn’t turn out that great.  Typical one sleeve longer than the other. (LOL)

Favorite type of crafting and some of my favorite projects?                                                                 My favorite crafts to do are crocheting and knitting.  It still amazes me that you can take a string of yarn and turn it into something usable.  My favorite projects tend  to be the one I’m working on at the moment, everything from chemo caps to afghan squares.

When and why did you start charity crafting?                                                      I started charity crafting in 2011 the year I retired from teaching.  I wanted something to do to keep my mind active and my hands busy. Besides my family didn’t need another hat, scarf or afghan etc. (LOL)  I just happened to read about a group called “Halos of Hope”  in the magazine “Crochet Today” and got started.  Also my local PBS channel ran a show called “Knit and Crochet Today” and they interviewed the creator of Ravelry.  I went to the computer to look Ravelry up and found a really great community of crocheters and knitters that featured charity groups I could become involved with.

What is your favorite part of charity crafting?                                                   My favorite part of charity crafting is knowing  what I make can really help someone.  It’s a good way to “pay it forward”.  Plus it ‘s just a lot of fun to do J

Here are some pictures of Muriel’s beautiful gifts:

Preemie Hats by Muriel for the Precious Preemie Project

Preemie Hats by Muriel for the Precious Preemie Project

Chemo hats for Halos of Hope

Chemo hats for Halos of Hope

Squares for Afghans for Pine Ridge

Squares for Afghans for Pine Ridge

